Friday, December 17, 2010

Po' Me Another Glass of Whine(y Ass)

Christmas is almost here.

Typically I stress each and every year around this time...will we be able to give Savana the things on her list and still stay up on our bills.
This Christmas, I am happy to say 'yes' to all of the above.

That is if you don't count the mounting medical bills for Rick's shoulder surgery.

I am not counting those bills. We received a check for $10,000 from the boss lady's insurance. I figure that Farm Bureau sent it to us to divvy out because so many different places were submitting bills to them. So, we cashed it and paid the bills. That $10,000 didn't go very far, however. Just a couple days ago we received another bill in the mail for a whopping 5 GRAND.

....and it looks like there is no end in sight.

Rick quite possibly tore some soft tissue in his shoulder recently. We will know for sure when we have another MRI done. The doctor took x-rays and all the metal works are still intact. Thank goodness.
Okay, so now you're wondering how he may have re-injured his shoulder, right?
Long story short....a dog food sack was falling over and it was just second nature to Rick, he went to stop the sack from falling over with the wrong hand.

Dang it!! He was doing really well in physical therapy and his shoulder was getting stronger. Now, it hurts, again.
But wait....I haven't even got to the best part yet....

The boss lady called yesterday. She has Rick's paycheck ready for him and she needs to talk to him. We know what's coming and it ain't good news.

J
anuary 15th is my birthday. It is also the day of Rick's last paycheck. See, even though nothing has ever been said about it, the boss lady has been paying Rick every week without fail. She says that she can no longer afford to pay him (remember, all she has to live on is her little ol' social security check...yea, okay whatever).
Don't get me wrong, we have been very grateful to have been receiving his paycheck ($200 per week is all, there, I said it. We are po' folks and I have learned to make it work for us) even though he hasn't hit a lick since June this year.
We also will be able to stay living in this house until May next year, rent and utility free (Thankfully. Rick asked her if she was planning on just leaving us out in the cold.) I wonder what, if any rights we have....Rick has not been released from the doctor. The boss lady's $10,000 is long gone but she is still liable in some way, Rick was injured on her property. Then there is the matter of our personal insurance...Since that ten grand got used up we have been taking care of Rick's medical bills using our own insurance. Here's the deal. If Rick isn't bringing in a paycheck our insurance is no longer available. You have to maintain employment to qualify. That's just great!
No money, no insurance, Rick can't work and we are moving in May 2011. I hate to whine and moan, but even though we knew this was coming it doesn't make it any easier. The thought of me getting a real job outside of the home....not looking forward to that.* More whining and moaning*
I guess all we can do is take each day as it comes (and slowly start packing, lol). Whatever happens is gonna happen regardless. It's all in how you respond, I guess.

I know we will make it. We have to.
Come on May 2011, show me what'cha got.

Merry Christmas y'all and I hope everyone has a healthy and happy 2011 !!!


No comments:

Post a Comment